Email WV Code

Email: Chapter 4, Article 7, Section 2

§4-7-2. Legislative building commission created; its composition; appointment of members; vacancies; election of officers; compensation and expenses of members.

There is hereby created the legislative building commission of West Virginia as a body corporate and agency of the State of West Virginia. The commission shall consist of seven members and shall be comprised of two persons who have previously served in the Senate, who shall be appointed by the President of the Senate; two persons who have previously served in the House of Delegates, who shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates; and three persons who shall be appointed by the Governor. No member of the commission shall otherwise be an officer, employee or member of the executive, legislative or judicial branches of federal or state government or any political subdivision thereof. Persons appointed to the commission shall be residents and citizens of the state. All appointments made pursuant to the provisions of this article shall be by and with the advice and consent of the Senate.

All commission members shall be appointed no later than July 1, 1972, and they shall continue to serve until the completion of the duties assigned to the commission.

Any vacancy occurring in the membership of the commission shall be filled by appointment in the same manner as provided for the initial appointments.

The members of the commission annually shall elect from their number a chairman, vice chairman and secretary. Each commission member shall be paid compensation of $35 for each day or substantial part thereof that he is engaged in the work of the commission and shall, in addition thereto, be reimbursed for all reasonable and necessary expenses actually incurred in the performance of his duties as such commission member.