WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §18B-2A-6

§18B-2A-6. University status for public baccalaureate institutions of higher education.

(a) The purpose of this section is to redesignate certain existing public baccalaureate institutions as universities and to provide a mechanism for other public baccalaureate institutions to become universities. The change in name is based on each institution's ability to meet minimum standards developed and adopted by the commission.

(b) Each governing board of a public baccalaureate institution is authorized to make changes which would further its eligibility to attain university status:

(1) If the college meets the eligibility requirements established by the commission to attain university status and if the commission grants university status, then the governing board shall determine the effective date on which the public baccalaureate institution becomes a university; and

(2) On and after the effective date designated by the governing board, the baccalaureate institution shall be designated a university.

(c) Concord college, Fairmont state college, Shepherd college and West Virginia state college, having met the eligibility requirements established by the commission to attain university status, are hereby designated as universities on the effective date of this section.

(d) Glenville state college having met the eligibility requirements established by the commission to attain university status, is hereby designated as a university on the effective date of the amendment of this section.

(e) An institution may not request or seek additional state appropriations as a result of the redesignation provided for in this section. No consequences, including the need to meet future accreditation requirements in order to maintain university status, which arise as a result of designating an existing state college as a university, provide sufficient justification for an institution to request or in any way seek additional state funds.

(f) Notwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, Marshall university and West Virginia University are, and remain, the only research and doctoral degree-granting public institutions of higher education in this state.