West Virginia Code §33-20B-8

WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §33-20B-8

§33-20B-8. Insurers required to report results of civil actions against physicians or
podiatrists; penalties for failure to report; notice and hearing.

(a) Every insurer issuing, or issuing for delivery in this state, a professional liability policy or
providing professional liability insurance to health care providers, including, but not limited
to, physicians, osteopathic physicians or surgeons, podiatrists or chiropractors, hospitals,
medical clinics, professional limited liability companies, medical corporations or
partnerships in this state shall submit to the commissioner, within sixty days from the date
of entry of any judgment or dismissal without payment, the date a release is executed in
connection with a settlement or the date a file is closed on any claim in which a law suit has
not been filed involving the insured, the following information:

(1) The date of any judgment, dismissal or settlement;

(2) Whether any appeal has been taken on the judgment and, if so, by which party;
(3) The amount of any settlement or judgment against the insured;

(4) Whether the claim was the subject of mediation;

(5) Whether any settlement of a claim was made in a lump sum payment, a structured
settlement or a combination of the two; and

(6) Any other information required by the commissioner.
For purposes of this section, "claim" means a third-party request for indemnification.

(b) If there is any additional resolution, including appellate decision or other subsequent
action, the insurer shall file a supplemental report to the commissioner.

(c) The West Virginia insurance guaranty association created pursuant to article twenty-six

of this chapter and the state Board of Risk and Insurance Management created pursuant to

article twelve, chapter twenty-nine of this code are subject to the reporting requirements of
subsection (a) of this section.

(d) Any insurer or entity that fails to report any information required to be reported under
this section is subject to a civil money penalty to be imposed by the Insurance
Commissioner. Upon a determination of the commissioner that there is probable cause to
believe that any insurer or entity has failed or refused to make a report required by this
section, the commissioner shall provide written notice to the alleged violator stating the
nature of the alleged violation. Upon written request of the alleged violator within thirty
days of the date of the commissioner's written notice, the commissioner shall notify the
alleged violator of the time and place of a hearing at which the alleged violator may appear

May 20, 2024 Page 1 of 2 §33-20B-8



West Virginia Code §33-20B-8

to show good cause why a civil penalty should not be imposed. The hearing shall be
conducted in accordance with the provisions of article five, chapter twenty-nine-a of this
code.

(e) If the commissioner determines that a violation of this section has occurred, the
commissioner shall assess a civil penalty of not less than $1,000 nor more than $10,000 per
violation. Anyone so assessed shall be notified of the assessment in writing and the notice
shall specify the reasons for the assessment. If the alleged violator requests a hearing, as
provided in subsection (d) of this section, the commissioner may not make his or her
determination of violation and assessment until the conclusion of the hearing. The amount of
penalty collected shall be deposited in the General Revenue Fund.

(f) If any violator fails to pay the amount of the penalty assessment to the commissioner
within thirty days after issuance of notice of the penalty assessment, the commissioner may
institute a civil action in the circuit court of Kanawha County to recover the amount of the
assessment. In any civil action, the court's review of the commissioner's action shall be
conducted in accordance with the provisions of section four, article five, chapter twenty-
nine-a of this code.

(g) No person or entity may be held liable in any civil action with respect to any report made
pursuant to this section if the report was made without knowledge of any falsity of the
information contained in the report.
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