WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §60-8-4

§60-8-4. Liter tax.

There is hereby levied and imposed on all wine sold after July 1, 2007, by suppliers to distributors, and including all wine sold and sent to persons 21 years of age or older who reside in West Virginia from direct shippers, except wine sold to the commissioner, a tax of twenty-six and four hundred six-thousandths cents per liter. Effective July 1, 2021, hard cider is excepted from this per liter tax and is taxed pursuant to §60-8A-3 of this code.

Before the 16th day of each month thereafter, every supplier, distributor and direct shipper shall make a written report under oath to the Tax Commissioner and the commissioner showing the identity of the purchasing person, the quantity, label and alcoholic content of wine sold by the supplier to West Virginia distributors or the direct shipper to persons 21 years of age or older who reside in West Virginia during the preceding month and at the same time shall pay the tax imposed by this article on the wine sold to the distributor or to persons 21 years of age or older who reside in West Virginia during the preceding month to the Tax Commissioner.

The reports shall contain other information and be in the form required by the Tax Commissioner. For purposes of this article, the reports required by this section shall be considered tax returns covered by the provisions of §11-10-1 *et seq.* of this code. Failure to timely file the tax returns within five calendar days of the 16th day of each month also subjects a supplier, distributor, and direct shipper to penalties under §60-8-18 of this code.

No wine imported, sold, or distributed in this state or sold and shipped to this state by a direct shipper shall be subject to more than one liter tax.