§18C-7-3. Definitions.

(a) General. -- For the purposes of this article, terms have the meaning ascribed to them in section two, article one of this chapter, unless the context in which the term is used clearly requires a different meaning or a specific definition is provided in this section.

(b) Definitions. -- (1) "Eligible institution" means:

(A) A state institution of higher education as defined in section two, article one, chapter eighteen-b of this code;

(B) Alderson-Broaddus College, Appalachian Bible College, Bethany College, Davis and Elkins College, Mountain State University, Ohio Valley University, the University of Charleston, West Virginia Wesleyan College and Wheeling Jesuit University, all in West Virginia. Any institution listed in this subdivision ceases to be an eligible institution if it meets either of the following conditions:

(i) It loses regional accreditation; or

(ii) It changes its status as a private, not-for-profit institution;

(C) Any other public or private regionally accredited institution in this state approved by the commission.

(2) "Tuition" means the quarter, semester or term charges imposed by an eligible state institution of higher education and, additionally, all mandatory fees required as a condition of enrollment by all students. For the purposes of this article, the following conditions apply:

(A) West Virginia University, Potomac State College and West Virginia University Institute of Technology are considered separate institutions for purposes of determining tuition rates; and

(B) The tuition amount paid by undergraduate health sciences students at West Virginia University is considered to be the same as the amount of tuition paid by all other West Virginia University undergraduate students.

(3) "Enrolled" means either currently enrolled or in the process of enrolling in an eligible institution.