§29-27-4. Board; quorum; chairperson; bylaws.

(a) The board is the governing body of the authority and the board shall exercise all the powers given the authority in this article.

(b) A chairperson shall be appointed by and shall serve at the will and pleasure of the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. The Secretary of Education and the Arts may submit to the Governor a list of three candidates to be considered for chairperson appointment. The authority shall meet at such times as shall be specified by the chairperson, but in no case less than once each three months. Notice of the meeting must be given in accordance with the provisions of section three, article nine-a, chapter six of this code. A majority of the members may also call a meeting upon such notice as provided in this section. A majority of seven appointed members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. The chairperson of the board shall appoint from the membership of the authority certain members to serve as secretary and as treasurer.

(c) There shall be a standing committee of the National Coal Heritage Area Authority known as the "Coal Heritage Trail Committee" comprised of the chairperson and members of the national coal heritage area from the counties that the Coal Heritage Trail passes through. These counties are Mercer, McDowell, Wyoming, Raleigh and Fayette. This standing committee shall be responsible for making recommendations to the full board regarding development and promotion of the Coal Heritage Trail, a national scenic byway.

(d) The board shall prescribe, amend and repeal bylaws and rules governing the manner in which the business of the authority is conducted, shall keep a record of its proceedings, and shall review and approve an annual budget.