Email WV Code

Email: Chapter 5, Article 28, Section 2

§5-28-2. Commission on holocaust education; compensation.

(a) Effective July 1, 2001, there is created the West Virginia commission on holocaust education.

(b) The commission is composed of eleven members: Two members currently serving on the state Board of Education, selected by the board; the state Superintendent of Schools or his or her designee; the director of the division of veterans' affairs; one attorney from the Attorney General's office, civil rights division; one teacher who has completed professional development related to holocaust education teaching at the high-school level and one teacher who has completed professional development related to holocaust education teaching at the junior-high or middle-school level, each appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate; and four state residents, appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, who shall be: Individuals who are holocaust scholars or individuals experienced in the field of holocaust education or survivors, second generation, eye-witness/liberators or individuals recommended by the chair of the present holocaust education commission, created by executive order, who, by virtue of their interest, education or long-term involvement in human rights, prejudice reduction and holocaust education have demonstrated, through their past commitment and cooperation with the existing holocaust commission on education, their willingness to work for holocaust awareness and education in West Virginia.

(c) Members of the commission shall be appointed for terms of three years or until their prospective successors are appointed and qualified. Members are eligible for reappointment. Any member of the commission who fails to attend more than two consecutive meetings without an excuse approved by the commission may be removed from the commission. All vacancies shall be filled by appointment in the same manner as the original appointment and the individual appointed to fill the vacancy serves for the remainder of the unexpired term.

(d) The Governor shall appoint a chairperson for the commission for a term of three years and until his or her successor is appointed and qualified.

(e) The Speaker of the House of Delegates shall appoint a member of the House of Delegates and the President of the Senate shall appoint a member of the Senate to serve as advisors to the commission.

(f) Members of the commission are not entitled to compensation for services performed as members but may be reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses incurred for each day engaged in the performance of their official commission duties in a manner consistent with the guidelines of the travel management office of the Department of Administration.