WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §15-14-8

§15-14-8. The Regional Interoperability Committees; composition; duties.

- (a) The Regional Interoperability Committees shall operate in each of the defined state homeland security regions.
- (b) Each Regional Interoperability Committee consists of no more than one representative from each identified discipline within each region, and includes, is not limited to, the following agencies, as well as those deemed necessary by the SWIC, Regional Interoperability Committee, or Executive Committee to ensure public safety:
- (1) Municipal, county or regional hospitals;
- (2) Municipal, county or state law enforcement;
- (3) Municipal, county or private transit;
- (4) Civil Air Patrol;
- (5) County Enhanced 911;
- (6) Emergency medical services;
- (7) Federal law enforcement;
- (8) Federal government (non-law enforcement);
- (9) Municipal or county fire service;
- (10) Municipal or county health department;
- (11) Higher education public safety;
- (12) Municipal or county Homeland Security/Emergency Management;
- (13) Private industry-critical infrastructure and key resources;
- (14) Regional response team;
- (15) Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Services (RACES) or Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES);
- (16) American Red Cross;
- (17) Non-first responder state agencies;

- (18) Volunteer search and rescue organizations;
- (19) County Commissioners' Association of West Virginia; and
- (20) West Virginia Municipal League.
- (c) The Regional Interoperability Committees shall:
- (1) Assist the SWIC and the Executive Committee with governing and monitoring the implementation and operation of the SIRN and establishing goals for the betterment of the SIRN; and
- (2) Serve as the mechanism for providing local level input to the Executive Committee for governance, identifying and developing technologies and standards, and coordination of resources.
- (d) Regional Interoperability Committee members shall serve without compensation.