## WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §18B-6-1A

## §18B-6-1a. Definitions.

For the purposes of this article, the following words have the meanings specified unless the context clearly indicates a different meaning:

(a) "Advisory Council of Classified Employees" or "classified council" means the state advisory organization of classified employees created pursuant to section five of this article.

(b) "Advisory Council of Faculty" or "faculty council" means the state advisory organization of faculty created pursuant to section two of this article.

(c) "Advisory Council of Students" or "student advisory council" means the state advisory organization of students created pursuant to section four of this article.

(d) "Classified employee", in the singular or plural, means any regular full-time or regular part-time employee of a governing board, the commission, the council or the West Virginia Network for Educational Telecomputing who holds a position that is assigned a particular job title and pay grade in accordance with the personnel classification system established by law.

(e) "Community and technical college" means Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College, Marshall Community and Technical College, New River Community and Technical College, West Virginia Northern Community and Technical College, Blue Ridge Community and Technical College, Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College, West Virginia State Community and Technical College, the Community and Technical College at West Virginia University Institute of Technology, West Virginia University at Parkersburg and any other community and technical college so designated by the Legislature.

(f) "Council" means the West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education created pursuant to section three, article two-b of this chapter.

(g) "Institutional Classified Employee Council" or "staff council" means the advisory group of classified employees formed at a state institution of higher education pursuant to section six of this article.

(h) "Institutional faculty Senate", "faculty Senate" or "faculty assembly" means the advisory group of faculty formed at a state institution of higher education pursuant to section three of this article.

(i) "State institution of higher education", in the singular or plural, means the institutions as defined in section two, article one of this chapter and, additionally, Pierpont Community and Technical College, a division of Fairmont State University, Marshall Community and
 May 4, 2024
Page 1 of 2
\$18B-6-1A

Technical College, New River Community and Technical College, Potomac State College of West Virginia University, Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Charleston Division of West Virginia University, Blue Ridge Community and Technical College, West Virginia State Community and Technical College, West Virginia University at Parkersburg, West Virginia University Institute of Technology, the Community and Technical College at West Virginia University Institute of Technology, the Higher Education Policy Commission, the West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education, the West Virginia Network for Educational Telecomputing and any other institution so designated by the Legislature.