West Virginia Code §22-5-6

WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §22-5-6

§22-5-6. Penalties; recovery and disposition; duties of prosecuting attorneys.

(a) Any person who violates any provision of this article, any permit or any rule or order
issued pursuant to this article or article one, chapter twenty-two-b of this code is subject to a
civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each day of such violation, which penalty shall be
recovered in a civil action brought by the director in the name of the State of West Virginia
in the circuit court of any county wherein the person resides or is engaged in the activity
complained of or in the circuit court of Kanawha County. The amount of the penalty shall be
fixed by the court without a jury: Provided, That any person is not subject to civil penalties
unless the person has been given written notice thereof by the director: Provided, however,
That for the first such minor violation, if the person corrects the violation within the time as
was specified in the notice of violation issued by the director, no civil penalty may be
recovered: Provided further, That if the person fails to correct a minor violation or for any
serious or subsequent serious or minor violation, the person is subject to civil penalties
imposed pursuant to this section from the first day of the violation notwithstanding the date
of the issuance or receipt of the notice of violation. The director shall, by rule subject to the
provisions of chapter twenty-nine-a of this code, determine the definitions of serious and
minor violations. The amount of any penalty collected by the director shall be deposited in
the general revenue of the state Treasury according to law.

(b)(1) Any person who knowingly misrepresents any material fact in an application, record,
report, plan or other document filed or required to be maintained under the provisions of
this article or any rules promulgated under this article is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon
conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $25,000 or imprisoned in the county jail not
more than six months or both fined and imprisoned: Provided, That if the violation occurs on
separate days or is continuing in nature, the fine shall be no more than $25,000 for each day
of such violation.

(2) Any person who knowingly violates any provision of this article, any permit or any rule or
order issued pursuant to this article or article one, chapter twenty-two-b of this code is guilty
of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $25,000 for
each day of such violation or imprisoned in the county jail not more than one year or both
fined and imprisoned.

(c) Upon a request in writing from the director it is the duty of the Attorney General and the
prosecuting attorney of the county in which any such action for penalties accruing under this
section or section seven of this article may be brought to institute and prosecute all such
actions on behalf of the director.

(d) For the purpose of this section, violations on separate days are separate offenses.
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