## WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §4-13A-2

## §4-13A-2. Membership; terms; filling vacancies; election of chair and vice chair.

- (a) The Governor shall appoint 10 members as follows:
- (1) Three academic historians;
- (2) Five citizens members, no more than one of whom may be from any one state senatorial district:
- (3) A member of the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution;
- (4) A member of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution;
- (b) The following shall serve as ex-officio voting members;
- (1) The State Superintendent of Schools, or a designee;
- (2) The Cabinet Secretary of Commerce, or a designee;
- (3) The Cabinet Secretary of Economic Development, or a designee;
- (4) The Curator of the Department of Arts, Culture, and History, or a designee;
- (5) The Secretary of the Department of Tourism, or a designee;
- (6) The Executive Director of the Herbert Henderson Minority Affairs Office, or a designee;
- (7) The West Virginia State Archivist;
- (8) The Director of the West Virginia State Museums;
- (9) One member of the House of Delegates, to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates, who shall serve as an ex officio nonvoting member of the commission; and
- (10) One member of the State Senate, to be appointed by the President of the Senate, who shall serve as an ex officio nonvoting member of the commission;
- (11) Members of the United States Senate from the State of West Virginia, or their designees shall serve as ex officio nonvoting members of the commission;
- (12) Members of the United States House of Representatives from the State of West Virginia, or their designees shall serve as ex officio nonvoting members of the commission;
- (c) All appointed members shall serve at the will and pleasure of the Governor;

- (d) Appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the unexpired terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments.
- (e) The curator of the West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History shall serve as the chair of the commission. The commission shall elect a vice chair and secretary from among its members.