West Virginia Code §46a-6L-104

WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §46a-6L-104

§46A-6L-104. Violations; penalties.

(a) If a consumer-reporting agency negligently violates the security freeze by releasing
credit information that has been placed under a security freeze, the affected consumer is
entitled to:

(1) Notification within five business days following discovery or actual knowledge of the
distribution of the information, including specificity as to the information distributed and the
third-party recipient of the information.

(2) File a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission or the office of the Attorney General
of West Virginia.

(3) File a civil action against the consumer-reporting agency seeking:

(A) Injunctive relief to prevent or restrain further violation of the security freeze;
(B) Actual damages sustained or not more than $1,000, whichever is greater; and
(C) Reasonable expenses, court costs, investigative costs and attorney's fees.

(4) Each violation of the security freeze is a separate incident for purposes of imposing
penalties under this section.

(b) If a consumer-reporting agency willfully violates the security freeze by releasing credit
information that has been placed under a security freeze, the affected consumer is entitled
to:

(1) Notification within five business days following discovery or actual knowledge of the
distribution of the information, including specificity as to the information distributed and the
third-party recipient of the information.

(2) File a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission or the office of the Attorney General
of West Virginia.

(3) File a civil action against the consumer-reporting agency seeking:

(A) Injunctive relief to prevent or restrain further violation of the security freeze;
(B) Actual damages sustained or not more than $5,000, whichever is greater; and
(C) Reasonable expenses, court costs, investigative costs and attorney's fees.

(4) Each violation of the security freeze is a separate incident for purposes of imposing
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penalties under this section.
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