West Virginia Code §55-12-1

WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §35-12-1

§55-12-1. Order for sale of property; terms; sale by special commissioner or
receiver; bond; deposit of proceeds; penalties.

A court, in a suit properly pending therein, may make a decree or order for the sale of
property in any part of the state, and may direct the sale to be for cash, or on such credit
and terms as it may deem best; and it may appoint a special commissioner or special
receiver to make such sale. Every special commissioner or special receiver appointed under
this section shall be a resident of the State of West Virginia, and he shall make no sale and
shall receive no money under a decree or order until he give a bond with approved security
before the said court or its clerk, conditioned as the law requires for the faithful accounting
therefor and with the further condition that he will deposit in his name as such special
commissioner or special receiver all moneys received by him as such special commissioner
or special receiver in one or more banks in the county in which the suit or cause is properly
instituted, and will not remove the same therefrom without the order or decree of
distribution of the presiding judge; and any special commissioner or special receiver
violating the conditions of his bond or the provisions of this section by making a sale or
receiving money before executing bond as aforesaid, or failing to deposit the money in one
or more banks in the county in which the suit or cause is properly instituted as aforesaid, or
failing to keep the same therein subject to a decree of distribution, shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor and, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $100 and
may be imprisoned in the county jail for a term not to exceed ten days.
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