WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §60-8A-3

§60-8A-3. Taxation; reporting; deposits into Agriculture Development Fund; penalties for failure to file returns; application of state tax law; rulemaking authority.

- (a) There is hereby levied and imposed on all hard cider sold on and after July 1, 2021, by wineries, farm wineries, and suppliers to distributors, and including all hard cider sold and sent to persons 21 years of age or older who reside in West Virginia from direct shippers, a tax of 22.6 cents per gallon, in like ratio for any partial gallon or other unit of measure: *Provided*, That wineries, farm wineries, and suppliers eligible for federal tax credits in 26 U.S.C. 5041(c)(1) on hard cider are eligible for the credits in this state against the tax on hard cider. In the case of a person who produces not more than 250,000 wine gallons of hard cider during the calendar year, there shall be allowed as a credit against any tax imposed by this section of 5.6 cents per wine gallon on the first 100,000 wine gallons of hard cider which are removed during such year for consumption or sale and which have been produced at qualified facilities in the United States. That credit shall be reduced by one percent for each 1,000 wine gallons of hard cider produced in excess of 150,000 wine gallons of hard cider during the calendar year. For the purposes of this section, the term "wine gallon" means a United States gallon of liquid measure equivalent to the volume of 231 cubic inches. On lesser quantities, the tax shall be paid proportionately (fractions of less than one-tenth gallon being converted to the nearest one-tenth gallon, and five-hundredths gallon being converted to the next full one-tenth gallon). Hard cider is exempt from the liter tax established under §60-8-4 of this code.
- (b) The Tax Commissioner shall deposit, at least quarterly, after deducting the amount of any refunds lawfully paid and any administrative fees authorized by this code, the taxes for the hard cider, pursuant to this section, in the Agriculture Development Fund established by \$19-2-12 of this code.
- (c) Before the 16th day of each month thereafter, every winery, farm winery, supplier, distributor, and direct shipper shall make a written report under oath to the Tax Commissioner and the commissioner showing the identity of the purchasing person, the quantity, label, and alcoholic content of hard cider sold by the winery, farm winery, and supplier to West Virginia distributors or the direct shipper to persons 21 years of age or older who reside in West Virginia during the preceding month and at the same time shall pay the tax imposed by this article on the hard cider sold to the distributor or to persons 21 years of age or older who reside in West Virginia during the preceding month to the Tax Commissioner.

The reports shall contain other information and be in the form required by the Tax Commissioner. For purposes of this article, the reports required by this section shall be considered tax returns covered by the provisions of \$11-10-1 et seq. of this code. Failure to timely file the tax returns within five calendar days of the 16th day of each month subjects a

winery, farm winery, supplier, distributor, and direct shipper to penalties under §60-8-18 of this code.

- (d) No hard cider imported, sold, or distributed in this state or sold and shipped to this state by a direct shipper shall be subject to more than one per-gallon tax on hard cider.
- (e) *Administrative procedures*. Each and every provision of the West Virginia Tax Procedure and Administration Act set forth in § 11-10-1 *et seq*. of this code, applies to the taxes imposed pursuant to this section, except as otherwise expressly provided in this article, with like effect as if that act were applicable only to the taxes imposed by this section and were set forth in extenso in this article.
- (f) *Criminal penalties*. Each and every provision of the West Virginia Tax Crimes and Penalties Act set forth in §11-9-1 *et seq*. of this code applies to the taxes imposed pursuant to this section with like effect as if that act were applicable only to the taxes imposed pursuant to this article and were set forth in extenso in this article.
- (g) The Tax Commissioner may propose legislative rules for legislative approval, pursuant to §29A-3-1 *et seq.* of this code, to implement this section.