West Virginia Code §61-3-24f

WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §61-3-24f

§61-3-24f. Wrongfully seeking workers' compensation; false testimony or
statements; penalties; venue.

(1) Any person who shall knowingly and with fraudulent intent secure or attempt to secure
compensation from the Workers' Compensation Fund, a private carrier or from a self-insured
employer:

(A) That is larger in amount than that to which he or she is entitled; or
(B) That is longer in term than that to which he or she is entitled; or

(C) To which he or she is not entitled, shall be guilty of a larceny and, if the amount is $1,000
or more, such person shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be
imprisoned in a state correctional facility not less than one nor more than ten years or, in the
discretion of the court, be confined in a county or regional jail not more than one year and
shall be fined not more than $2,500. If the amount is less than $1,000, such person shall be
guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in a county or
regional jail for a term not to exceed one year or fined an amount not to exceed $2,500, or
both, in the discretion of the court.

(2) Any person who shall knowingly and willfully make a false report or statement under
oath, affidavit, certification or by any other means respecting any information required to be
provided under chapter twenty-three of this code shall be guilty of a felony and, upon
conviction thereof, shall be confined in a state correctional facility for a definite term of
imprisonment which is not less than one year nor more than three years or fined not less
than $1,000 nor more than $10,000, or both, in the discretion of the court.

(3) In addition to any other penalty imposed, the court shall order any person convicted
under this section to make full restitution of all moneys paid by the Workers' Compensation
Fund, private carrier or self-insured employer as the result of a violation of this section. The
restitution ordered shall constitute a judgment against the defendant and in favor of the
State of West Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission, private carrier or self-insured
employer.

(4) If the person so convicted is receiving compensation from such fund, private carrier or
employer, he or she shall, from and after such conviction, cease to receive such
compensation as a result of any alleged injury or disease.

(5) Venue for prosecution of any violation of this section shall either be the county in which
the claimant resides, the county in which the claimant is employed or working, or in
Kanawha County where the Workers' Compensation Fund is located.
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