
West Virginia Code §61-3-39E

July 26, 2025 Page 1 of 1 §61-3-39E

WEST VIRGINIA CODE: §61-3-39E
§61-3-39e. Notice of dishonor by payee; service charge.

The payee or holder of a check, draft or order which has been dishonored because of
insufficient funds or credit may send notice thereof to the drawer of the check, draft or
order. The payee or holder of any dishonored check may impose a fee of up to $25 a
worthless check. This fee may not be imposed or collected after a complaint for warrant has
been delivered to magistrate court. No payee or holder of a check, draft or order which has
been dishonored because of insufficient funds or credit shall incur any civil or criminal
liability for the sending of a notice substantially in the form provided herein, other provisions
of law notwithstanding. The form of the notice shall be substantially as follows:

“You are hereby notified that a check, number .................., issued by you on (date of check),
drawn upon (name of bank), and payable to ..............................., has been dishonored.
Pursuant to West Virginia law, you have ten days from the date of this notice to tender
payment of the full amount of the check plus a fee of $..................... (not to exceed $25 a
worthless check) to the undersigned at ........................... You are further notified that in the
event the above amount is timely paid in full you will not be subject to legal proceedings,
civil or criminal.

Dated ......................., 20.....

.................................

(Signed)."

The provisions of this section do not authorize the making of any other written or oral
threats of prosecution to enforce or enhance the collection or honoring of the dishonored
check, draft or order.

The holder or payee of any check, draft or order shall relinquish the check, draft or order to
the maker upon tender of the full amount due at any time before a complaint for warrant has
been presented to magistrate court. In the event complaint for warrant has been presented
to magistrate court, payment may be made only through the court and any holder or payee
unlawfully accepting payment after that time shall be liable for all costs which may be
imposed by the magistrate court in the matter, including all costs which may have accrued
by the time the magistrate court is notified of the payment.
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